How The West Wing changed my life…

Just kidding? Ok, I really love The West Wing. The day that it became available on Netflix was one happy day in 2012…I also had a baby in 2012 so I feel silly saying that The West Wing was the greatest day.

But alas, it’s great to have a show I can follow along with at my own pace. By my calculations, I spend 30 minutes, 7-8 times a day, every day since November 10, 2012 sitting on my couch, bed, or somewhere else by myself (most of the time) to feed Wyatt.  There are a few things I can do with that time. Sit quietly, answer texts, study the patterns of dog hair on my floor, or watch tv. So I often watch The West Wing- I’m totally in love. I loooove Aaron Sorkin’s writing. I fell in love several years ago with “The American President”, a movie he wrote that is sort of a precursor to the The West Wing. They share lots of the same cast and many similar plot lines. They even recycle some lines. So I felt right at home with President Bartlett, Leo, Sam, Josh, CJ, Donna and Toby. 

Last week I found myself texting Kyle something to the effect of “I’m forming a subcommittee to look into the coffee allotment. Some coffee-drinking members of the household are complaining there isn’t enough coffee left in after other people get their coffee” when I found there was not enough coffee left in the pot to get a refill. I also told him that he was being investigated by the Department of Health and Human Services after violating a clean floor treaty when he trekked dirt over a recently vacuumed floor.

I felt pretty smart about that. And it made my complaints to Kyle just a little bit funny. They weren’t big deals anyway, but we both laughed at how I spent time formulating my arguments. 

And just for fun, 30 Rock and Friday Night Lights are also shows that I can say have significantly improved my marriage.

Let Bartlett be Bartlett!

Leave a Reply

Small thoughts

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

